Okay, I’m gonna be honest. I’m a girl. Obviously. I’m undeniably feminine in looks and demeanor. Yet, here I am playing a role that used to be undeniably male. I’m not knocking women’s rights, or equality or any of that. I’m so blessed to live in a society where I’m given as much freedom as I have. But, I feel that, thanks in large part to women wanting equality so much, we’re now being asked to play roles in society that we should be allowed to play, but not required to.
Mostly, I feel that women should not be the ones doing all the pursuing. It seems like I find myself being the “pursuer” in most relationships. I want to feel pursued. I want to feel like I’m something to be treasured. I want to feel like I’m special enough to be chased after a little. I don’t want to be the one doing the chasing. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the “chase” as much as the next girl, but sometimes I just want to feel like I’m not doing all the work.
Take, for example, my last relationship. The guy was great, mostly. He was just too apathetic to pursue me. I felt like I was constantly trying to keep him and he was sitting back and letting it happen. In the end, I was still hopelessly pursuing, while he lost interest and moved on. Now, again, I’m not saying it should be the opposite, where the women are all apathetic and bored while the guys work their butts off to get us, I just feel like men don’t pursue women as often anymore. Not really.
Maybe I’m all wrong– this is, after all, just my opinion– but I just needed to say this. I think it would do every girl’s confidence and self-esteem a bit of good to be pursued every now and then. So it goes.

Really, guys. Try it some time.

