Before I write my letter, I’d like to explain something. For the past few months, my dad has been very sick with a ridiculous amount of different things. He’s been told he has 3 bleeding ulcers; he’s got a degenerated hip that he’s got to have replaced that’s had him in pain that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy; he’s been given dangerous amounts of morphine by a doctor that didn’t bother to do his job; and, most recently, he’s been diagnosed with MRSA (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) in his blood, which means his hip surgery has to be put off until that’s cleared up. He’s currently in a low level ICU just waiting. While he was at home, my mom was up with him all night and day, any time he needed anything, since he couldn’t actually do anything with his hip basically not there anymore. She’d been exhausted to the point of falling asleep in the middle of walking down the hall. Now that he’s in the hospital, she’s getting more rest, but she’s also having to go back and forth from my hometown of Valley, AL, to Auburn to see him pretty much every day. All the while this is happening, I’m stuck here in Nashville with no way to be there and nothing to contribute but prayers (and trust me, I’ve contributed quite a few). I don’t write all this to tell you how miserable I am or just to lay on some sob story about my sad life, but to help you understand the context in which I’ll be writing my letter for Day 3: The letter to my parents.

Dear Mama and Daddy,
I’m so sorry for not being there. You know that. I’m sorry for not doing more and for not being a better daughter. If there was more I’d do, I would. I’m praying for you every day. I miss you bunches. Daddy, I’m really worried about you. I’m sorry for all the times I told you I didn’t want to be around you growing up. I really am. I’m sorry for all the hurtful things I said. I was just a thoughtless teenage girl and I didn’t mean to hurt you. I know God has His hand on you now and I’m praying that He’ll heal you. I love you so much, and I know you love me and want more for me than you can give me. It’s really okay. You give me more than enough as it is.
Mama, I’m sorry for being so hard on you sometimes. I know you’re doing the best you can, it’s just all I know to do sometimes. I don’t mean to be hurtful or mean, I just don’t know how else to deal with this. I love you so much and I appreciate everything you’ve done and continue to do for me. I don’t tell you enough how much you mean to me. I’m really praying for you to be strong and handle things the way you should.
Thanks so much for everything. Really. I love you guys.

Ari

Day 3: A song that makes you happy
“Be OK” by Ingrid Michaelson and anything (with the exception of “Eyes Wide Open”) by the Vespers.

